The Measurement of Donor-Specific Cell-Free DNA Identifies Recipients With Biopsy-Proven Acute Rejection Requiring Treatment After Liver Transplantation Academic Article uri icon


  • Background

    Assessment of donor-specific cell-free DNA (dscfDNA) in the recipient is emerging as a noninvasive biomarker of organ rejection after transplantation. We previously developed a digital polymerase chain reaction (PCR)-based approach that readily measures dscfDNA within clinically relevant turnaround times. Using this approach, we characterized the dynamics and evaluated the clinical utility of dscfDNA after liver transplantation (LT).


    Deletion/insertion polymorphisms were used to distinguish donor-specific DNA from recipient-specific DNA. Posttransplant dscfDNA was measured in the plasma of the recipients. In the longitudinal cohort, dscfDNA was serially measured at days 3, 7, 14, 28, and 42 in 20 recipients. In the cross-sectional cohort, dscfDNA was measured in 4 clinically stable recipients (>1-y posttransplant) and 16 recipients (>1-mo posttransplant) who were undergoing liver biopsies.


    Recipients who underwent LT without complications demonstrated an exponential decline in dscfDNA. Median levels at days 3, 7, 14, 28, and 42 were 1936, 1015, 247, 90, and 66 copies/mL, respectively. dscfDNA was higher in recipients with treated biopsy-proven acute rejection (tBPAR) when compared to those without. The area under the receiver operator characteristic curve of dscfDNA was higher than that of routine liver function tests for tBPAR (dscfDNA: 98.8% with 95% confidence interval, 95.8%-100%; alanine aminotransferase: 85.7%; alkaline phosphatase: 66.4%; gamma-glutamyl transferase: 80.1%; and bilirubin: 35.4%).


    dscfDNA as measured by probe-free droplet digital PCR methodology was reflective of organ health after LT. Our findings demonstrate the potential utility of dscfDNA as a diagnostic tool of tBPAR.


  • Goh, Su Kah
  • Do, Hongdo
  • Testro, Adam
  • Pavlovic, Julie
  • Vago, Angela
  • Lokan, Julie
  • Jones, Robert M
  • Christophi, Christopher
  • Dobrovic, Alexander
  • Muralidhara, Vijayaragavan

publication date

  • 2019