Hemerobiidae (Insecta : Neuroptera) from New Guinea Academic Article uri icon


  • Eighteen species of Hemerobiidae are recorded from New Guinea, and keys provided for their separation. They represent six genera: Notiobiella (five spp.), Psectra (four), Zachobiella (one), Megalomina (one), Hemerobius (three) and Micromus (four). Nine species are described as new (three Notiobiella, three Psectra, two Hemerobius and one Micromus) and a further two singletons noted as possibly new but not named. Few species appear to be common, and five (possibly six) occur also in Australia.

publication date

  • 1988